• LHS Student Named Colorado’s Gatorade Softball Player of the Year

    Posted by Debbie Wright on 5/29/2020

    Loveland High School senior Laurin Krings was named Colorado’s Gatorade Softball Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Krings is only the fourth player in history to win the Gatorade award twice. She also becomes a finalist for the national award to be announced in June.

    Comments (-1)
  • BHS Student Receives National Merit Scholarship

    Posted by Debbie Wright on 5/29/2020

    Berthoud High School senior Kyle Pinto has been chosen to receive a National Merit Scholarship. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation recognizes and honors academically talented students in the United States. Scholarship winners are chosen based on their abilities, skills, extracurricular accomplishments and potential for success in college and beyond.

    Comments (-1)
  • LHS Student Receives Boettcher Scholarship

    Posted by Debbie Wright on 5/29/2020

    Loveland High School senior Audrey Bankes has been chosen to receive a Boettcher Scholarship. A total of 42 students throughout the state were awarded the scholarship this year, which equals about 4% of the applications received. The Boettcher Scholarship provides winners with a full-ride to any four-year institution in the state of Colorado. Scholars are selected based on academics, service, leadership and character.

    Comments (-1)
  • Sarah Milner Teacher Named Northern Colorado Teacher of the Year

    Posted by Debbie Wright on 5/28/2020

    Becky Amschwand, first grade teacher at Sarah Milner Elementary School, was voted Northern Colorado's Teacher of the Year in Townsquare Media's Teacher of the Year contest.

    Comments (-1)
  • MVHS Students Win Loveland Poet Laureate High School Poetry Contest

    Posted by Debbie Wright on 5/12/2020

    Three Mountain View High School students were the winners of the first Loveland Poet Laureate High School Poetry Contest: Magdalena McKee’s poem “Nostalghia” took first place; Eloise Nelson’s poem “Moonflowers” took second place; and Ashley Arthur’s poem “Constellations” took honorable mention. Each winner will receive a small honorarium. These poems have been shared on the Loveland Poet Laureate Facebook page and will be read at the Celebrate Emerging Voices online poetry reading.

    Comments (-1)
  • Students Honored at Thompson FFA Degree Ceremony

    Posted by Debbie Wright on 4/10/2020


    First and second year FFA members were honored at the Thompson FFA Degree Ceremony on March 9 at Berthoud High School. FFA members had to meet minimum qualifications and submit an application to receive their degree pin, which is worn on their FFA jacket.

    Comments (-1)
  • TSD Coach & Players Named to CHSAA All-State Basketball Teams

    Posted by Debbie Wright on 3/27/2020

    The Colorado High School Activities Association selected its all-state basketball teams. In girls basketball, Berthoud High School coach Alan Gibson was named 4A Girls Coach of the Year. Berthoud High School senior guard/forward Emily Cavey made the 4A all-state first team and junior guard Breanna Fowler made the all-state second team. Thompson Valley High School forward Sydnee Durtsche, 4A Northern League Player of the Year, received a 4A honorable mention and Loveland High School senior guard Megan Stackhouse received a 5A honorable mention. In boys basketball, Thompson Valley High School junior Jaromy Morgan received a 4A honorable mention.

    Comments (-1)
  • TSD Staff Named as Educators of the Year

    Posted by Debbie Wright on 3/12/2020

    2020 EOY

    Thompson School District staff members were named as 2020 Educators of the Year at the Thompson Education Foundation Educator Appreciation Breakfast held at Embassy Suites Loveland. The recipients were:

    • TSD Staff Member of the Year – Patricia Connelly, Walt Clark Middle School
    • Principal of the Year – Eric Harting, Cottonwood Plains Elementary School
    • Elementary Educator of the Year – Jennifer Preusse, Ivy Stockwell Elementary School
    • Secondary Educators of the Year
      • Jessica May, Conrad Ball Middle School
      • Kyle Freesen, Loveland High School
    • Thompson Education Foundation Educator of the Year – Donald Kotnik, Mountain View High School
    Comments (-1)
  • MVHS Student is Northern League Swimmer of the Year

    Posted by Debbie Wright on 2/28/2020


    Mountain View High School senior Sophia Busse was named Swimmer of the Year by Northern League coaches. Her ability to inspire the team was one of the leading reasons she was chosen for this award.

    Comments (-1)
  • McKee Wellness Foundation Donates to TSD Health & Wellness Programs

    Posted by Debbie Wright on 2/28/2020

    Ponderosa      High Plains

    McKee Wellness Foundation donated over $12,300 to school health and wellness programs in Thompson School District for participation in the 2019 Loveland Turkey Trot. 724 TSD students, family and staff participated in this year’s event. Funding was provided through McKee’s Heart Health Program, which aims to support education, prevention, treatment and recovery programs in the community associated with cardiovascular wellness. One of the program’s key components is education and activity for young community members.

    Comments (-1)